Visa-Exempt Visitors Urged to Submit Their Own Electronic Travel Authorization (eTA) Requests

No Comment Yet


New pre-screening system will be required for specific guests as of September 29, 2016.

In only a couple of weeks, it will be required for visa-exempt guests to Canada to apply for an electronic Travel Authorization (eTA) before travelling. Recent reports highlight the requirement for eTA candidates to uncover their own particular information as opposed to depending on a third party, for example, travel agents, employers, friends or other associations. These outsiders may not be completely mindful of the candidate’s history, which may incorporate, in addition to other things, prior criminality.

Potential guests to Canada may assign another party to complete the eTA application for their benefit. By not revealing important data on an eTA application, the applicant may be in danger of not only being denied entry to Canadabut rather it might also bring result in a longer-term restriction from entering Canada.

For instance, an individual may book a flight to Canada through a travel agency, which may offer services that incorporate completion of the eTA application. Other associations may likewise say to potential guests to Canada that they will deal with these steps for them. One of the pieces of information required when applying for an Eta, is the candidate’s identification number, which the previously stated outside party  may have on record.

What is an eTA- The eTA system plans to offer a stress-free and simple online application.  Visa-exempt people looking for transitory entry to Canada are requested to complete a short online form, in which they give some individual data and answer a couple of essential questions relating to criminality or medicinal issues, and additionally questions about their immigration history.

As of September 29, 2016, visa-exempt voyagers traveling to or traveling through Canada via air will require an eTA before boarding their flight.

Requirements- To successfully complete the online form, applicants will need:

  • A valid passport
  • A credit card to pay the $7CAD fee
  • A valid email address
  • Access to the internet and free time

The CAS $7 fee is required for processing purposes. Often, the eTA will be granted within minutes of applying and is electronically linked to the applicant’s passport.

The eTA incorporates the candidate’s name, date and place of birth, sex, location, nationality, and passport and/or travel document information. If the candidate can’t make the application by means of the electronic system due to a physical or mental handicap, it can  be made by other  methods, including a paper application form.

These are the countries who have to obtain an eTA in order to enter Canada as of September 2016:

  • Australia
  • Bahamas
  • Belgium
  • Croatia
  • Denmark
  • France
  • Germany
  • Iceland
  • Greece
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Ireland
  • Japan
  • Lithuania
  • Monaco
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Singapore
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Taiwan
  • United Kingdom among others.

Mexico is scheduled to be added on to the above listed countries from December 2016, along with Romanian and Bulgarian nationals who are also in line to be visa-exempt in the near future. Nationals of countries that are not listed above are required to obtain a Temporary Resident Visa before venturing to Canada.

Up Next

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


DOWNLOAD your 5-stepguide to Canada!

We are a REVIEW website and do not offer visas.

SUCCESS! Please check your Email for your download.